• image
Lucknow Frontier


SSB was mandated to guard Indo-Nepal Border on 19th Jun, 2001 for which it was deployed in Uttar Pradesh from June, 2002. The erstwhile Divisional Headquarters at Itanagar and Ranikhet were closed and shifted to  Lucknow as the Frontier HQ Lucknow on 13th Jan, 2003 with its headquarter at Lucknow. Initially Lucknow Frontier covered the States of UP and Uttarakhand manning 868 kms of border. After raising of Ranikhet Frontier in Uttrakhnad, AOR of Lucknow Frontier is now approximately 489 kms which covers following Districts of Uttar Pradesh: 
1.    Lakhimpur Kheri
2.    Bahraich
3.    Shrawasti
4.    Balrampur
5.    Siddharthnagar 
6.    Maharajganj 

Lucknow Frontier has 02 Sectors (Gorakhpur and Lakhimpur Kheri), 08 operational Bns, 06 Area Offices, 01 Reserve Bn, 01 Recruit Training Centre and 01 Composite Hospital.

Area of responsibility defined up to 15 km from international border which is completely open and porous with no VISA regime, which makes SSB’s job more complex, challenging and demanding as there is free and frequent movement of people across the border. The border is increasingly being exploited by FICN racketeers, Drug cartels, trans border criminals, smugglers, human traffickers, etc. and has ample scope of movement of Militant groups, Maoists, Naxalites. Our task is to curb such type of trans-border crimes along the border. Besides this, welfare activities like MCA/VCA, SCA, CWP, etc. are conducted regularly in the border villages to improve their living conditions and for better understanding and synergy between SSB and the villagers.

Pay Tribute to Martyrs by Clicking Our Heroes Tab      SSB Helpline Number:- 1903 (Toll Free)      Recruitment Helpline Number:-(011) 26193929
Visitor No: - 8671239